Qatar 2022 Race: Rohr lists Ighalo, Osimhen for Liberia, Cape Verde


Qatar 2022 Race: Rohr lists Ighalo, Osimhen for Liberia, Cape Verde

• 24 players expected in Tangier Nov 8

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has called out former Manchester United striker Odion Jude Ighalo from his self-imposed retirement for Nigeria’s closing Group C games of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 African race against Liberia and Cape Verde this month.


Ighalo, the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations’ top scorer Odion Jude Ighalo announced his retirement from the international game following that AFCON feat in Egypt and stakeholders have been sharply divided over his imminent return to the Super Eagles.

Other players listed are team captain Ahmed Musa, deputy captain William Ekong, defenders Kenneth Omeruo and Leon Balogun, midfielders Wilfred Ndidi and Alex Iwobi, forwards Moses Simon and recuperating Napoli striker Victor Osimhen, as well as 15 others.

The Super Eagles will tackle the Lone Star of Liberia at the Grand Stade Tangier in Morocco on Saturday, 13th November and then fly into Lagos for the final group game against Cape Verde’s Blue Sharks at the Teslim Balogun Stadium on Tuesday, 16th November.

Top of their pool with nine points but hotly chased by seven-pointer Cape Verde who host Central African Republic on the island of Mindelo, the Eagles need the three points against the Lone Star on the neutral turf of Morocco’s principal northern city to remain on firm ground when hosting the Blue Sharks three days later in Nigeria’s commercial and industrial capital.

Leicester City of England’s midfield enforcer Wilfred Ndidi, who missed the last round of games home-and-away against Central African Republic, is back in the trough, just as fellow Premiership boy Alex Iwobi and Spain-based forward Samuel Chukwueze.

The invited players and overseas-based members of the technical crew are to report directly to the city of Tangier on Monday, 8th November while technical officials from Nigeria are to report in Tangier the same day.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho ; Daniel Akpeyi Maduka Okoye

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem Kenneth Omeruo ; Leon Balogun; William Ekong ; Olaoluwa Aina ;Jamilu Collins Abdullahi Shehu; Zaidu Sanusi; Kevin Akpoguma

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka ; Joseph Ayodele-Aribo; Wilfred Ndidi ; Alex Iwobi ;Kelechi Iheanacho

Forwards: Ahmed Musa; Samuel Chukwueze; Victor Osimhen; Moses Simon; Paul Onuachu; Chidera Ejuke; Odion Jude Ighalo

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments